How Much Cocoa Is in Dove Dark Chocolate? Cacao Percentage
Dove does not print one cacao percentage on every dark chocolate wrapper. A Promises product is referenced in an Amazon search as “Dove Promises Deeper Dark Chocolate 70% Cacao.” Its standard Dove Dark Chocolate Bar, sold on its own rather than as part of the Promises pieces, lists no cacao percentage at all on the official Dove website. So the answer to how much cocoa is in Dove dark chocolate depends on which product sits on the shelf, and this guide breaks down what each one actually contains.
How Much Cocoa Is in Dove Dark Chocolate
The dark chocolate lineup from Dove spans two confirmed cacao percentages, 70% for Deeper Dark and 82% for Deepest Dark, while the plain Dove Dark Chocolate Bar and several other Promises flavors carry no published number.
Those two figures come straight from the packaging and product listings for the Promises line, the only Dove dark chocolate that states a cacao percentage anywhere a shopper can see it. Everything else in the range, including the standalone bar and flavors such as almond, sea salt and caramel, or peanut butter, ships without a stated percentage on the wrapper or on dovechocolate.com.
Reviewers have filled part of that gap. Tasting Table’s ranking of Dove flavors lists the 70% and 82% Promises pieces by name and matches the figures found on retailer pages, giving shoppers a second source beyond Dove itself. Secondary sites that estimate a cacao percentage for the standard bar, somewhere between 47% and 60%, are guessing rather than quoting Dove, and the company has not confirmed a number for that product as of September 2026.
Dove Promises Deeper Dark Chocolate: 70% Cacao Explained
Dove Promises Deeper Dark Chocolate comes in a sharing size bag of individually wrapped pieces. Each piece sits inside a foil wrapper printed with one of Dove’s short inspirational messages, the same format the brand uses across its milk and dark Promises lines. Shoppers looking for a moderate dark chocolate, stronger than milk chocolate but not as intense as a baking-grade bar, land in this range.
Dove Promises deeper dark chocolate includes individually wrapped dark chocolate candies with a higher cacao profile than standard milk chocolate varieties. They can be served as a small sweet snack, shared in candy dishes, or used in dessert recipes. Compare cacao percentage, filling or inclusions, bag size, and individually wrapped formats.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Multiple retailers, including Albertsons and H-E-B alongside Amazon, list the same 70% figure for Deeper Dark, which is one reason it reads as a settled fact rather than a marketing estimate. Tasting Table’s flavor ranking places it among the brand’s dark chocolate options without flagging any discrepancy in the stated percentage.
Dove Promises Deepest Dark Chocolate: 82% Cacao Explained
Dove Promises Deepest Dark Chocolate is Dove’s highest stated cacao offering and comes in the same sharing size as Deeper Dark. Tasting Table describes it as delivering an intense dark chocolate flavor with less sweetness than the rest of the Dove dark lineup, which tracks with what a higher cacao percentage usually means for taste.
Dove Promises Deepest Dark Chocolate candies are individually wrapped dark chocolate pieces for snacking, sharing, and dessert use. Compare cacao content, piece count, package format, and whether varieties include fillings or flavor additions.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
That does not rule one out, since Mars updates its lineup regularly and regional packaging can differ, but as of September 2026 Deepest Dark is the top confirmed number in the Dove dark chocolate range.
Why the Standard Dove Dark Chocolate Bar Has No Percentage Listed
Dove does not state a cacao percentage for its standard 3.3 oz Dark Chocolate Bar on its official product page. That puts the standard bar in the same unlabeled category as several other Promises flavors, including the classic dark pieces, the almond variety, and the sea salt and caramel flavor.
Spudart’s blog post on the topic makes the same observation, noting that the cacao percentage question for Dove dark chocolate is largely unanswered even though some of the brand’s own bars do carry a number. Estimates elsewhere in the 47% to 60% range appear to come from readers or reviewers comparing Dove to labeled competitors, not from any figure Dove itself has released. Until Dove adds a percentage to the standard bar’s packaging, the honest answer for that specific product is unknown rather than approximate.
How Dove Names Its Dark Chocolate
Dove ties its cacao percentage to a comparative naming system, with Deeper Dark at 70% and Deepest Dark at 82%, rather than printing a number on every wrapper the way some premium chocolate makers do. Both names sit under the Promises umbrella, the packaging line built around individually wrapped pieces carrying a short printed message inside the foil.
That naming choice tells a shopper the relative order without requiring a label to be read closely. Deeper Dark reads as darker than Dove’s milk chocolate Promises, and Deepest Dark reads as the most intense option the brand currently sells. It is a marketing shorthand as much as a nutrition fact, and it works only because the two labeled varieties both include the actual percentage in parentheses on the front of the bag.
Other Dove Dark Chocolate Flavors and Their Cacao Status
Several other Dove dark chocolate flavors exist beyond Deeper Dark and Deepest Dark, and no cacao percentage is stated for them. Tasting Table’s ranking of Dove flavors names Dark Chocolate Promises, Dark Chocolate Almond Promises, Sea Salt and Caramel, and Peanut Butter as separate dark chocolate options sold alongside the two labeled Promises varieties.
Almond adds whole or chopped nuts to the same individually wrapped format, while the Sea Salt and Caramel and Peanut Butter flavors fold a filling or topping into the dark chocolate shell. Buyers who want a specific cacao number should stick with Deeper Dark or Deepest Dark, since the flavored varieties follow the same unlabeled pattern as the standard bar. A reviewer’s taste description is not a substitute for a manufacturer’s stated percentage, so this guide treats the flavored lines as unconfirmed rather than estimating a figure for them.
Dove Dark Chocolate Products by Cacao Percentage
The table below lists every Dove dark chocolate variety confirmed for this guide, along with the cacao percentage each one states or leaves blank as of September 2026.
| Product Line | Product Name | Cacao Percentage | Package Size | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Promises | Deeper Dark | 70% | 7.23 oz | Sharing size, individually wrapped |
| Promises | Deepest Dark | 82% | 7.23 oz | Sharing size, individually wrapped |
| Standard | Dark Chocolate Bar | Not published | Varies | Bar format |
| Promises | Dark Chocolate (Classic) | Not published | Varies | Individually wrapped pieces |
| Promises | Dark Chocolate with Almonds | Not published | Varies | Individually wrapped pieces |
| Promises | Dark Chocolate Sea Salt and Caramel | Not published | Varies | Individually wrapped pieces |
| Promises | Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter | Not published | Varies | Individually wrapped pieces |
How Cacao Percentage Changes the Taste
Cacao percentage measures how much of a chocolate bar comes from cocoa solids and cocoa butter rather than added sugar, so a higher number usually means a less sweet, more intense bar. That relationship is why Tasting Table describes Deepest Dark’s 82% as carrying less sweetness than lower-percentage bars, while Deeper Dark’s 70% sits in a middle ground that many shoppers use as an entry point into darker chocolate.
Texture shifts too. Higher-percentage dark chocolate tends to snap more cleanly and can taste slightly more bitter or acidic, depending on where the cocoa beans were grown. Bean origin details for Dove’s dark Promises line are not provided, so their effect on the flavor profile cannot be confirmed.
Is Dove Dark Chocolate Good for You
DOVE does not state a cacao percentage for its standard DOVE Dark Chocolate Bar. Treat any general health claim about a particular bar with caution until you have checked its actual nutrition label, since package formulas can change.
Health Considerations to Discuss with Your Doctor
Anyone managing diabetes, a cocoa or dairy allergy, or a doctor-directed diet should check the ingredient and nutrition panel on the specific Dove product before eating it, and raise questions about cacao percentage or sugar content directly with their doctor or dietitian. This guide is written from published product information rather than from a lab test or a nutritionist’s review, so it cannot substitute for medical advice tailored to an individual’s health needs.
Who Makes Dove Chocolate
Mars, Incorporated owns and produces Dove chocolate, including every dark chocolate product named in this guide. The company sells Dove alongside other well known confectionery brands, and it uses the same individually wrapped, foil-and-message format across the Promises dark and milk chocolate lines.
That ownership matters for anyone trying to track down an official cacao percentage. Consumer questions about ingredients or formulas for a Mars-owned brand typically go through Mars consumer relations rather than a separate Dove-specific contact, which is worth knowing before you go searching for a company statement that may not exist on the public website.
Where to Buy Dove Promises Dark Chocolate
Amazon, Albertsons, and H-E-B all list Dove Promises Deeper Dark and Deepest Dark in their grocery sections, alongside standard grocery, drug, and big-box retailers that typically carry the wider Dove Promises lineup. The 7.23 ounce sharing bag is the size most commonly listed online for both dark varieties.
Availability for the plain Dove Dark Chocolate Bar and the flavored Promises pieces varies more by store and by season than the two labeled dark varieties do. A shopper who cannot find Deeper Dark or Deepest Dark on a store shelf is more likely to find them through a retailer’s website or a grocery delivery app than by checking a second physical store, since those two products are the ones each retailer tends to keep listed online year round.
How to Check the Cacao Percentage Before You Buy
Shoppers can confirm a Dove dark chocolate bar’s cacao percentage in a few places before checkout, starting with the front of the package and moving to the retailer’s listing if the wrapper stays quiet. Follow these steps in order for the fastest answer.
- Check the front label. Deeper Dark and Deepest Dark print their percentage directly under the flavor name on the front of the sharing bag.
- Read the online product listing. Amazon, Albertsons, and H-E-B pages for the Promises dark varieties repeat the same percentage found on the package.
- Check the Dove product page. dovechocolate.com lists ingredients and nutrition information even for products where it omits a cacao percentage.
- Contact Mars consumer relations. For a bar with no listed percentage, reaching out directly is the only way to get a company-confirmed number rather than an outside estimate.
The maker’s or the agency’s own page beats any summary of it, including mine, so I would check the 70% or 82% printed below the flavor name before making much of an unlabeled standard bar. That is less glamorous than pretending a 47% to 60% estimate settles things, but it gives the chocolate the proper burden of proof.
This guide does not track recipe, packaging, or cacao-percentage changes across regions or over time.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Dove Make a Chocolate Bar Above 82% Cacao?
The official 3.3 oz DOVE Dark Chocolate Bar is described as dark chocolate and identifies its chocolate as semisweet chocolate. Deepest Dark’s 82% is the highest cacao percentage Dove currently states for a dark chocolate product, and no retailer listing or official page turned up anything higher as of September 2026.
Why Do Online Sources Disagree on the Standard Bar’s Cacao Percentage?
Because Dove has not published one. Figures between 47% and 60% that show up on some sites appear to be estimates or comparisons to other brands rather than numbers taken from Dove packaging, and the official Dove website leaves the standard bar’s percentage blank.
Who Owns Dove Chocolate?
Mars, Incorporated owns and manufactures Dove chocolate, alongside many other candy brands. Consumer questions about a specific Dove product typically go through Mars rather than a standalone Dove customer service line.
Are Dove Promises Dark Chocolate Pieces Individually Wrapped?
Yes. Every Promises variety, dark or milk, comes as individually wrapped pieces with a short message printed on the inside of the foil, and the 7.23 ounce sharing bags for Deeper Dark and Deepest Dark follow the same format.
Check the front of the package for a Promises dark chocolate bar, and check the ingredient list and Dove’s own product page when the front label stays silent, since that combination is the most reliable way to learn how much cocoa is actually in a specific Dove dark chocolate product today.
References
- Dove Dark Chocolate Bar, Official Dove Website
- DOVE PROMISES Dark Chocolate Bag, 7.61oz | Dove
- Dove PROMISES Deeper Dark Chocolate 70% Cacao, 7.23 Oz, Amazon
- Dove Dark Chocolate Search Results, Albertsons
- 13 Dove Chocolate Flavors, Ranked Worst To Best, Tasting Table
- How Healthy Is Dove Dark Chocolate?, Spudart
- Dove (chocolate brand), Wikipedia
- Dove Chocolate Brands Overview, Candy Warehouse
Sources read in September 2026.
